AGH Foundation Awards Scholarships – 2014

The Ascension Borgess Allegan Foundation is excited to announce the 22 recipients of its spring scholarships awarded to graduating high school seniors and employees of the Allegan Healthcare Group, to support training and higher education studies in health care. The Foundation awarded more than $20,000 during a ceremony at Ascension Borgess Allegan Hospital on Thursday, May 22.

High school students who received awards are: Lauren Bryant, Otsego; Jennifer Davies, Wayland; Angela Healy, Gobles; Frederick Hicks II, Bangor; Emma Kilbane, Hopkins; Zoe Lang, Allegan; Hannah Lepird, Hamilton; Erin Mulder, Wayland; Taylor Orr, Allegan; Kelsey Phillips, Plainwell; Alexandria Richlich-Resendiz, Allegan; and Nathalie Yanes, Wayland.

Allegan Healthcare Group team members that received scholarships are: Michelle Chambers (Hopkins), Food & Nutrition; Amanda DeRooy (Allegan), Acute Care; Jessica Doornhaag (Plainwell), Allegan Professional Health Services; Elena Garcia (South Haven), Respiratory Care; Robert Guise (Kalamazoo), Radiology; Bobbi Sue Mayes (Otsego), Nursing Administration; Gwendolyn Kurtz-Stenger (Gobles), Allegan Professional Health Services; and Lisa Striegle (Hopkins), Allegan Professional Health Services. Rachel Blank (Allegan), Emergency Room, received the Marie Hall Memorial Nursing Scholarship and Kilah Jelsemeno (Bloomingdale), Float Nurse, accepted the Debra Rae Daniels Memorial Scholarship.

“Our scholarship programs through the Ascension Borgess Allegan Foundation are a key part of our mission to invest in the health of our community,” said Brent Larson, Executive Director of the AGH Foundation. “We have the opportunity to encourage and support talented individuals seeking to advance their skills and knowledge to serve others in healthcare. We are delighted that through the generosity of donations received through the Foundation, we can offer these scholarship awards to highly qualified students from the communities we serve.”

The Ascension Borgess Allegan Foundation awards scholarships twice yearly. Awards to high school students are presented each spring. The scholarship fund is made up of the Schuyler Mellen Education Endowment Fund, Marie Hall Nursing Scholarship Fund, Debra Rae Daniels Memorial Fund, and a general fund maintained by the Ascension Borgess Allegan Foundation.

The Ascension Borgess Allegan Foundation invites and accepts financial gifts to help further the mission of Ascension Borgess Allegan Hospital, and to support selected health-related projects in the community. It is a resource for people interested in “investing in the health of our community.” In addition to scholarship programs, the Foundation supports new health care programs and facilities, helps purchase clinical equipment, and sponsors wellness initiatives. For more information about the AGH Foundation, please call (269) 686-4234 or visit

Back row – left to right: Frederick Hicks II, Hannah Lepird, Angela Healy, Emma Kilbane, Taylor Orr, Alexandria Richlich-Resendiz, Zoe Lang, and Lauren Bryant. Front row – left to right: Jennifer Davies, Erin Mulder, and Nathalie Yanes. (Not pictured: Kelsey Phillips.)
Left to right: Gwendolyn Kurtz-Stenger, Michelle Chambers, Rachel Blank, Robert Guise, Bobbi Sue Mayes, Kilah Jelsemeno and Amanda DeRooy. (Not pictured: Lisa Striegle, Elena Garcia and Jessica Doornhaag.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *